How many belts are in Brazilian Jiu Jitsu? Find out now

How many belts are in BJJ?

Table of Contents

“How many belts are in BJJ?” – the question often piqued the interest of many martial arts enthusiasts. BJJ, or Brazilian Jiu Jitsu, is a martial art with a rich and complex grading system, unlike any other combat sport.

In this article, we will delve into the Understanding the BJJ Belt System, clarifying not just the number, but the significance of each colored belt.

Understanding the BJJ Belt System

When it comes to Brazilian Jiu Jitsu (BJJ), one of the most common questions is, “How many belts are in Jiu Jitsu?” The answer is not as straightforward as you might think. The BJJ belt system is unique and has a deep significance in the martial arts world.

The Significance of Belts in Brazilian Jiu Jitsu

In BJJ, belts are not just about displaying one’s rank. They represent a practitioner’s skill level, dedication, and time spent on the mat. Each color signifies a different stage of a student’s journey in this martial art.

The BJJ Belt System Explained

There are five main belts in the BJJ system, each with its own specific criteria and requirements. These include:

    • White Belt: This is the beginner’s level where students learn the basics and foundations of BJJ.
    • Blue Belt: At this stage, students start to develop their own BJJ game and understand the complexities of the sport.
    • Purple Belt: This is the intermediate level where students refine their techniques and begin to master the art of Jiu Jitsu.
    • Brown Belt: This is the advanced level where students are expected to have a deep understanding of Brazilian Jiu Jitsu and its strategies.
    • Black Belt: This is the expert level, meaning that the student has achieved a high degree of proficiency in BJJ.

It’s important to note that there are also sub-levels within each belt, represented by stripes. These stripes indicate progress within a belt level.

Why is the BJJ Belt System Important?

The BJJ belt system is important as it provides a clear path for students. It gives them a sense of accomplishment and motivates them to continue improving. Furthermore, it allows instructors to easily identify the skill level of each student.

So, how many belts are in BJJ? The answer is five main belts, each with its own set of stripes representing progress. But remember, the journey in BJJ is not just about the belts. It’s about the knowledge, skill, and personal growth you gain along the way.

Interested in starting your BJJ journey? Book a FREE trial class at Gracie Barra Kuna and experience the transformative power of Brazilian Jiu Jitsu. 

What are the Different Levels of BJJ Belts?

Recent posts

Contact us

Fill in the form and we’ll get in touch with you to understand your needs and goals.